– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The Republic of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa became a Member State in 1964.

Dr Wynand Louw, Director of Research and Technology Development, NMISA, was first elected to the CIPM in 2013.

Dr Louw is President of the Consultative Committee for Ionizing Radiation (CCRI).

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the Republic of South Africa (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:


Private Bag X34
Lynnwood Ridge
0040 Pretoria
Tel.: +27 12 841 4152
Fax: + 27 12 841 4458
Web: http://www.nmisa.org/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: François DENNER (then Manager, CSIR-NML*)
* now the NMISA
  • National Metrology Institute of South Africa (NMISA), Pretoria

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For ionizing radiation: medium- and high-energy neutron measurements: iThemba Laboratory for Accelerator-Based Sciences (iThemba LABS) (from 27 February 2015)

  • click to go to the KCDB
  • Internationally recognized Calibration and Measurement Capabilities (CMCs)
  • Participation in key and supplementary comparisons
  • Submission of CMCs through: AFRIMETS.
  • The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    NMISA (South Africa) from 13 October 2006

    Over the last 15 years the Republic of South Africa has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to the Republic of South Africa and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Dr Wynand Louw
    • Dr Tshenge Demana (Head of Delegation)
    • Mr Ndwakhulu Samuel Mukhufhi
    • Mr Mustapha Adams
    • Mr Calvin Sehlapelo
    • Mrs Anneline Chetty
    Delegates at recent meetings of NMI Directors and State Party Representatives:
    • Dr Wynand Louw (18-19 October 2017)
    • Mr Ndwakhulu Samuel Mukhufhi (18-19 October 2017)
    • Dr Wynand Louw (24-25 October 2016)
    • Mr Ndwakhulu Samuel Mukhufhi (24-25 October 2016)
    • Dr Wynand Louw (13-14 October 2015)
    • Mr Ndwakhulu Samuel Mukhufhi (13-14 October 2015)

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    Nationals having contributed to the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives