– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The Swiss Confederation

The Swiss Confederation became a Member State in 1875.

In November 2014 the CGPM elected Dr Philippe Richard, now Director of METAS, to the CIPM. Dr Richard started his term at the March 2015 session of the CIPM.

Dr Richard is President of the Consultative Committee for Mass and related quantities (CCM).

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the Swiss Confederation (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:


Lindenweg 50
CH-3003 Bern-Wabern
Tel.: + 41 58 387 01 11
Fax: + 41 58 387 02 10
Web: http://www.metas.ch/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Wolfgang SCHWITZ (then Director, OFMET*)
* now METAS
  • Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS), Bern-Wabern

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For ionizing radiation: radioactivity; activity, units Bq and Bq/g: Institut Universitaire de Radiophysique Appliquée (IRA), Lausanne (from 20 September 2002)
  • For absolute humidity: dew point from –90 °C to +95 °C: MBW Calibration AG (MBW), Wettingen (from 2 May 2014)
  • For photometry and radiometry: solar irradiance, responsivity: Physikalisch-Meteorologisches Observatorium Davos and World Radiation Center (PMOD/WRC(CH)), Davos Dorf (from 20 September 2002)

  • click to go to the KCDB

    The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    METAS from 7 September 2006
    PMOD/WRC(CH) from 6 October 2008

    Over the last 15 years this State has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    • Chemistry
    • Electricity
    • Ionizing Radiation
    • Mass
    • Time

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to the Swiss Confederation and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Dr Philippe Richard (Head of Delegation)
    • Dr Gregor Dudle
    • Mr Bobjoseph Mathew

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    Nationals having contributed to the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives