– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]

Canada became a Member State in 1907.

Dr Alan Steele, Chief Metrologist and Director General, NRC, was elected to the CIPM by the 26th CGPM (November 2018).

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of Canada (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:

Note: This summary chart also includes personal members where applicable.

Building M-36
1200 Montreal Road
ON K1A 0R6 Ottawa
Web: https://nrc.canada.ca/en/research-development/research-collaboration/research-centres/metrology-research-centre
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Janusz LUSZTYK (then Director General, NRC-INMS)
  • National Research Council Canada (NRC), Ottawa

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For measurement of pressurized natural gas flow: TransCanada Calibrations (TCC) (from 14 February 2006)

  • click to go to the KCDB

    Over the last 15 years this State has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    • Chemistry
    • Electricity
    • Ionizing Radiation
    • Mass
    • Time

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to Canada and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Dr James W. McLaren
    • Dr Alan Steele (Head of Delegation)
    • Dr Barry Wood
    • Dr Georgette Macdonald
    • Dr Richard Green
    Delegates at recent meetings of NMI Directors and State Party Representatives:
    • No participants at recent meetings (2017, 2019)

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    Nationals having contributed to the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    • No sponsorship yet

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives