– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]

Australia became a Member State in 1947.

Dr Barry Inglis, formerly Executive Director and Chief Metrologist at the NMIA, was a member of the CIPM from 2000 until 2019. He served as President of the CIPM from 2011 to 2019, President of the Consultative Committee for Electricity and Magnetism (CCEM) from 2003 to 2015, and Vice-President of the CIPM from 2002 to 2011.

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of Australia (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:


Note: This summary chart also includes personal members where applicable.

GPO Box 2013, Canberra ACT 2601
Street address: 36 Bradfield Road
NSW 2070 Lindfield
Tel.: + 61 2 8467 3600
Fax: + 61 2 8467 3610
Web: http://www.measurement.gov.au/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Barry D. INGLIS (then Director, NML CSIRO*)
* now the NMIA
  • National Measurement Institute (NMIA), Lindfield

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For ionizing radiation: activity of radionuclides: Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), Menai
  • For ionizing radiation: exposure to ionizing radiation, absorbed dose of ionizing radiation: Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA), Yallambie

  • click to go to the KCDB

    The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    ARPANSA from 7 February 2007
    NMIA from 7 November 2006

    Over the last 15 years this State has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    • Chemistry
    • Electricity
    • Ionizing Radiation
    • Mass
    • Time

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to Australia and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Ms Merih Malmqvist Nilsson
    • Dr Bruce Warrington (Head of Delegation)
    • Dr Peter Fisk
    • Mr Brendan Berne
    • Mr Angus Mackenzie
    • Dr Alex Cooke

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    • No participants yet

    Nationals having contributed to the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    • No sponsorship yet

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives