Asset Publisher

104th meeting of the CIPM (Session I)

9 to 10 March 2015

Meeting report

Contact person

Asset Publisher

Search filter :


CIPM Recommendation 1 (2015)

CIPM Recommendation to NMIs on managing the consequences of the corrections to the BIPM as-maintained mass unit

CIPM Recommendation 2 (2015)

Updates to the list of standard frequencies

Asset Publisher


Search filter :

Decision CIPM/104-25 (2015)

The CIPM decided to defer the discussion on the BIPM terminology agenda item until its next meeting. It established a small working group composed of J. McLaren (Chair), J. Ullrich, W. Louw and M. Milton to review the issue and to report back to at its next meeting.

Decision CIPM/104-24 (2015)

The CIPM requested the Consultative Committee Presidents to provide suggestions for participants in the users/stakeholders panel at the workshop on the CIPM MRA review, by 30 April 2015.

Decision CIPM/104-23 (2015)

The CIPM requested the BIPM to contact all the NMI Directors to invite contributions and their participation in the workshop on the CIPM MRA review planned for October 2015.

Decision CIPM/104-22 (2015)

The CIPM proposed Dr Buzoianu to represent the BIPM at the JCGM WG2 (VIM).

Decision CIPM/104-21 (2015)

The CIPM appointed the following CIPM members to serve on the CIPM Sub Committees and ad hoc Working Groups:

  • CIPM Sub-Committee on Strategy: M. Milton (Chair), CIPM bureau, H. Brandi, G. Rietveld, T. Liew.
  • CIPM Sub-Committee on the BIPM Pension and Provident Fund and Health Insurance: L. Érard (Chair), T. Usuda, B. Bowsher, C. Bock (external member).
  • CIPM Sub-Committee on Finance: B. Bowsher (Chair), Y. Duan, J. McLaren, P. Richard, W. Louw.
  • CIPM ad hoc Working Group on Conditions of Employment: J. McLaren (Chair), L. Érard, I.Castelazo, M. Buzoianu.
  • CIPM Sub-Committee on Awards: M. Inguscio (Chair), D. I. Kang, H. Brandi, F. Bulygin.
  • CIPM ad hoc Working Group on the CIPM MRA: B. Inglis (Chair), W.E. May, J. Ullrich, F. Bulygin, T. Usuda, W. Louw, M. Milton, L. Érard.

Decision CIPM/104-20 (2015)

The CIPM decided to close the CIPM ad hoc Working Group on CIPM Membership and thanked Dr May and his Group for their work.

Decision CIPM/104-19 (2015)

The CIPM reappointed the Presidents of the following Consultative Committees for 4-year terms:

  • Consultative Committee for Acoustics, Ultrasound and Vibration (CCAUV): T. Usuda
  • Consultative Committee for Mass and Related Quantities (CCM): P. Richard
  • Consultative Committee for Photometry and Radiometry (CCPR): T. Usuda (on the condition of receiving approval from the NMIJ)
  • Consultative Committee for Amount of Substance: Metrology in Chemistry and Biology (CCQM): W.E. May
  • Consultative Committee for Ionizing Radiation (CCRI): W. Louw
  • Consultative Committee for Thermometry (CCT): Y. Duan
  • Consultative Committee for Time and Frequency (CCTF): L. Érard
  • Consultative Committee for Units (CCU): J. Ullrich

Decision CIPM/104-18 (2015)

The CIPM appointed Dr Rietveld as the new President of the Consultative Committee for Electricity and Magnetism (CCEM) for a 4-year term.

Decision CIPM/104-17 (2015)

The CIPM appointed Prof. Inguscio as the new President of the Consultative Committee for Length (CCL) for a 4-year term and encouraged Prof. Inguscio to make contact with key participants in the CCL for preliminary discussions.

Decision CIPM/104-16 (2015)

The CIPM encouraged the JCRB to explore mechanisms by which GULFMET could attend future JCRB meetings.

Decision CIPM/104-15 (2015)

The CIPM requested the CIPM bureau to convene a meeting with the Regional Metrology Organization Chairs and to report back.

Decision CIPM/104-14 (2015)

The CIPM adopted the position proposed in Document CIPM/15-11 on the drafting of ISO 17034 as the CIPM position.

Decision CIPM/104-13 (2015)

The CIPM adopted the position proposed in Document CIPM/15-04 on the revision of ISO/IEC 17025 as the CIPM position.

Decision CIPM/104-12 (2015)

The CIPM appointed Dr Kaarls as an honorary member of the CIPM for his outstanding contribution to the CIPM. The President of the CIPM will inform Dr Kaarls of this appointment.

Decision CIPM/104-11 (2015)

The CIPM Secretary will contact the chair of the CGPM Commission for CIPM Election, Dr Weritz, to inform her about the results of the election of the CIPM bureau.

Decision CIPM/104-10 (2015)

The CIPM approved the proposal made by the CCU President to start an awareness campaign relating to the new SI and requested him to contact KRISS, LNE, NIST, NMIJ, NPL and PTB to ask them to nominate experts in public relations to take part in a working group.

Decision CIPM/104-9 (2015)

The CIPM revised its Decision CIPM/103-30 and decided that experimental results to be used by the CODATA Task Group on Fundamental Constants in the evaluation of the fundamental constants leading to the fixed values for the defining constants of the new SI should be accepted for publication by 1 July 2017.

Decision CIPM/104-8 (2015)

The CIPM supported the proposal from the BIPM regarding the situation of the Islamic Republic of Iran that the BIPM should develop a detailed case one year before the publication of the Convocation for the 26th CGPM (i.e. early in 2017) in order to submit the case to Member States well in advance.

Decision CIPM/104-7 (2015)

The CIPM welcomed the proposal from the BIPM for a Capacity Building and Knowledge Transfer Programme and unanimously supports it.

Decision CIPM/104-6 (2015)

The CIPM approved the BIPM Work Programme for 2016-2019.

Decision CIPM/104-5 (2015)

The CIPM adopted the recommendation as presented to the CIPM by the CCM, CIPM Working Document CIPM/15-12, as "CIPM Recommendation to NMIs on managing the consequences of the corrections to the BIPM 'as maintained' mass-unit".

Decision CIPM/104-4 (2015)

The CIPM adopted the documents 'Guidelines for Selection of CIPM Consultative Committee Presidents' and 'Good Practices for Selection of Consultative Committee Working Group Chairpersons and Working Group Deputy Chairpersons' dated 9 March 2015.

Decision CIPM/104-3 (2015)

The CIPM elected the following by secret ballot:

  • Dr McLaren as Secretary of the CIPM;
  • Dr May and Prof. Ullrich as Vice-Presidents of the CIPM.

Decision CIPM/104-2 (2015)

The CIPM elected Dr Inglis as President of the CIPM by acclamation.

Decision CIPM/104-1 (2015)

The CIPM accepted the minutes of Session II of the 103rd meeting of the CIPM as a true record.


Working documents

Please log in to see more.

cipm LOGO

Asset Publisher