– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
Consultative Committee for Mass and Related Quantities (CCM)
The CCM was set up in 1980.

Present activities concern matters related to the comparisons of mass standards with the international prototype of the kilogram, considerations affecting the definition and realization of the unit of mass, establishment of international equivalence between national laboratories for mass and a number of related quantities (density, pressure, force, fluid flow, viscosity, hardness, gravitational acceleration) and advice to the CIPM on these matters.

Dr P. Richard
Federal Institute of Metrology METAS
Executive Secretary:
Dr H. Fang
Bureau international des poids et mesures
President:    Dr P. Richard
Federal Institute of Metrology METAS
Executive Secretary:    Dr H. Fang
Bureau international des poids et mesures
  • Bundesamt für Eich- und Vermessungswesen [BEV], Vienna
  • Central Office of Measures [GUM], Warsaw
  • Centro Español de Metrología [CEM], Madrid
  • Centro Nacional de Metrología [CENAM], Querétaro
  • CSIR National Physical Laboratory of India [NPLI], New Delhi
  • D.I. Mendeleyev Institute for Metrology [VNIIM], St Petersburg
  • Danish Fundamental Metrology Ltd [DFM], Hørsholm
  • Federal Institute of Metrology METAS [METAS], Bern-Wabern
  • Instituto Nacional de Metrologia, Qualidade e Tecnologia [INMETRO], Rio de Janeiro
  • Instituto Português da Qualidade [IPQ], Caparica
  • Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica [INRIM], Turin
  • Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science [KRISS], Daejeon
  • Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais [LNE], Paris
  • Measurement Standards Laboratory of New Zealand [MSL], Lower Hutt
  • National Institute of Metrology [NIM], Beijing
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology [NIST], Gaithersburg
  • National Measurement Institute, Australia [NMIA], Lindfield
  • National Metrology Institute of Japan, AIST [NMIJ/AIST], Tsukuba
  • National Metrology Institute of South Africa [NMISA], Pretoria
  • National Physical Laboratory [NPL], Teddington
  • National Research Council of Canada [NRC], Ottawa
  • Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt [PTB], Braunschweig
  • RISE Research Institutes of Sweden AB [RISE], Borås
  • Slovak Institute of Metrology/Slovenský Metrologický Ústav [SMU], Bratislava
  • VSL B.V. [VSL], Delft
  • Official observer(s):   
  • Agency for Science, Technology and Research [NMC, A*STAR], Singapore
  • Laboratorio Tecnológico del Uruguay [LATU], Montevideo
  • National Institute of Standards [NIS], Giza
  • National Metrology Institute of Turkey [UME], Gebze-Kocaeli
  • Note:

      The Director of the BIPM is a member, ex officio, of all Consultative Committees.
      Next meetings:
    27 May 2020: Joint workshop of CCM WGPV and European project 16NRM05 on "Ion Gauge" at the PTB (Germany)
    28–29 May 2020: CCM WGPV meeting and Joint workshop with European project 18SIB04 "Quantum Pascal" at the PTB (Germany)
    17–21 May 2021: 18th meeting of the CCM and related meetings