– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The Republic of Finland

The Republic of Finland became a Member State in 1923.

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the Republic of Finland (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:


Tekniikantie 1
02150 Espoo
Tel.: +358 20 722 111
Fax: + 358 20 722 7001
Web: http://www.mikes.fi/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Ulla LÄHTEENMÄKI (then Director, MIKES)
  • VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd, Centre for Metrology / Mittatekniikan keskus (MIKES), Espoo

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For photometry and radiometry: Aalto University (MIKES-Aalto), Espoo
  • For chemistry: water: Finnish Environment Institute (MIKES-SYKE), Helsinki
  • For mass and related quantities: acceleration of free fall; dimensional metrology: long distance, geodetic baselines, EDM instruments (long distance), surveyor leveling rods, precise leveling systems: Finnish Geospatial Research Institute (FGI), Masala
  • For chemistry: gases: Finnish Meteorological Institute (MIKES-FMI), Helsinki
  • For ionizing radiation: Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Helsinki

  • click to go to the KCDB

    The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    FGI from 10 February 2020
    MIKES from 1 September 2006
    MIKES-Aalto from 19 September 2019
    MIKES-FMI from 8 May 2015
    MIKES-SYKE from 17 September 2018
    STUK from 6 May 2010

    Over the last 15 years this State has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    • Chemistry
    • Electricity
    • Ionizing Radiation
    • Mass
    • Time

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to the Republic of Finland and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Dr Martti Heinonen (Head of Delegation)
    • Dr Mikko Merimaa
    • Mr Tuomo Valkeapää
    Delegates at recent meetings of NMI Directors and State Party Representatives:
    • No participants at recent meetings (2017, 2019)

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    • No sponsorship yet

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives