– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The Federal Republic of Germany

The Federal Republic of Germany* became a Member State in 1875.

Professor Joachim Ullrich, President, PTB, was first elected to the CIPM in 2013.

He is a member of the bureau of the CIPM since 9 March 2015, when the CIPM first elected him Vice-President.

Professor Ullrich is also President of the Consultative Committee for Units (CCU).

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the Federal Republic of Germany (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:

*. then the German Empire
Bundesallee 100
D-38116 Braunschweig
Tel.: + 49 531 592 1000
Fax: + 49 531 592 1005
Web: http://www.ptb.de/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Ernst O. GÖBEL (then President, PTB)
  • Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB), Braunschweig

  • Designated institute(s):
  • Bundesamt für Verbraucherschutz und Lebensmittelsicherheit (BVL), Berlin
  • Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM), Berlin
  • Umweltbundesamt (UBA), Langen

  • click to go to the KCDB
  • Internationally recognized Calibration and Measurement Capabilities (CMCs)
  • Participation in key and supplementary comparisons
  • Submission of CMCs through: EURAMET.
  • The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    BAM (Germany) from 17 January 2008
    BVL (Germany) from 11 November 2016
    PTB (Germany) from 28 November 2006
    UBA (Germany) from 17 August 2007

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives