– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The Federative Republic of Brazil

The Federative Republic of Brazil first became a Member State in 1921.

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the Federative Republic of Brazil (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:


Santa Alexandrina St, 416
Rio Comprido
20261-232 Rio de Janeiro
Tel.: + 55 21 2563 2802
Fax: + 55 21 2293 0954
Web: http://www.inmetro.gov.br/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: Marco Antonio ALBUQUERQUE de ARAUJO LIMA (then President, INMETRO)
  • Instituto Nacional de Metrologia, Qualidade e Tecnologia (INMETRO), Rio de Janeiro

  • Designated institute(s):
  • For ionizing radiation: Laboratório Nacional de Metrologia das Radiações Ionizantes, IRD (LNMRI/IRD), Rio de Janeiro
  • For time and frequency: Observatório Nacional/Serviço Nacional da Hora (ON/DSHO)

  • click to go to the KCDB
  • Internationally recognized Calibration and Measurement Capabilities (CMCs)
  • Participation in key and supplementary comparisons
  • Submission of CMCs through: SIM.
  • The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    INMETRO (Brazil) from 26 March 2007

    Over the last 15 years the Federative Republic of Brazil has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to the Federative Republic of Brazil and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • His Excellency Carlos Márcio Cozendey
    • Mrs Daniela Arruda Benjamin
    • Prof. Humberto Siqueira Brandi
    • Mr Jorge Antonio Da Paz Cruz
    • Mr Pedro Mendoça Cavalcante
    • Prof. Marcelo Neves de Medeiros
    Delegates at recent meetings of NMI Directors and State Party Representatives:
    • Prof. Dr Humberto Siqueira Brandi (24-25 October 2016)
    • Prof. Dr Humberto Siqueira Brandi (13-14 October 2015)

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    • No sponsorship yet

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives