– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
Dr Patrizia Tavella awarded the Enrico Fermi Prize by the Italian Physical Society

Dr Patrizia Tavella, the Director of the Time Department at BIPM has been awarded the Enrico Fermi Prize by the Italian Physical Society. The prize was awarded jointly to her and Dr Giovanni Mana of INRiM. The citation reads: "for their original and important contributions to the measurement of time and to the definition of mass".

The Prize was established in 2001 to mark the centenary of the birth of Enrico Fermi and is awarded by the Italian Physical Society each year to those who have made important contributions to physics. It was presented during the Opening Ceremony of the 106th National Congress of the Italian Physical Society which was held on-line.

Many congratulations to Patrizia and to Giovanni Mana. The award of the prize to scientists working in metrology shows again how much metrology contributes to the world of science.

Select a topic:
BIPM highlights
BIPM CBKT programme
Member States and Associates
Metrology events
Revision of the SI
Staff and recruitments