– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009, visits the BIPM Chemistry Department

The BIPM Chemistry Department was honoured to host a visit from the Nobel Prize winner, Dr Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, on 7 March 2019. He received a presentation on the Department's activities, most notably its comparisons of peptide and small organic standards and greenhouse and air quality gas standards. These are an integral part of the global metrology community's activities to maintain a robust infrastructure for reliable chemical measurements in the application fields of health and laboratory medicine, food safety, and the environment.

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2009 along with Thomas A. Steitz and Ada E. Yonath "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome." He is currently a group leader at the Medical Research Council (MRC) Laboratory of Molecular Biology on the Cambridge Biomedical Campus, UK. In 2012 he was knighted and in 2015 he was elected as President of the Royal Society for a five year term.

Select a topic:
BIPM highlights
BIPM CBKT programme
Member States and Associates
Metrology events
Revision of the SI
Staff and recruitments