– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM)

CIPM bureau members:

Election to the CIPM bureau (or first election) Most recent (re)election to the CIPM by the CGPM First election
to the CIPM
by the CGPM
(or provisional election by the CIPM)
President Dr W. Louw (South Africa) 20 March 2019 2018 15 May 2013
Secretary Dr T. Usuda (Japan) 20 March 2019 2018 1 July 2012
Vice-President Prof. J. Ullrich (Germany) 9 March 2015 2018 15 May 2013
Vice-President Dr J. Olthoff (United States of America) 20 March 2019 2018 2018

Other CIPM members:

Most recent (re)election to the CIPM by the CGPM First election
to the CIPM
by the CGPM
(or provisional election by the CIPM)
Dr F. Bulygin (Russian Federation) 2018 2014
Dr I. Castelazo (Mexico) 2018 2014
Dr D. del Campo Maldonado (Spain) 2018 2018
Dr Y. Duan (People's Republic of China) 2018 8 March 2010
Dr N. Dimarcq (France) 2018 2018
Dr H. Laiz (Argentina) 2018 7 Dec. 2016
Dr T. Liew (Singapore) 2018 2014
Prof. P. Neyezhmakov (Ukraine) 2018 2018
Dr S.-R. Park (Republic of Korea) 2018 2018
Dr M.L. Rastello (Italy) 2018 7 Dec. 2016
Dr P. Richard (Switzerland) 2018 2014
Dr G. Rietveld (Netherlands) 2018 2014
Dr M. Sené (United Kingdom) 2018 7 Dec. 2016
Dr A. Steele (Canada) 2018 2018

ex officio Dr M.J.T. Milton (United Kingdom), Director of the BIPM

The CGPM approved new criteria and a new process for election of CIPM members at its meeting in November 2014 (see Resolution 2). The latest version has been the subject of some small changes decided by the CIPM:

Criteria and Process for Election of CIPM Members

The CIPM approved guidelines for election of the CIPM bureau at its 107th meeting in June 2018.

Guidelines for Election of the CIPM Bureau

The above process for election of CIPM members refers to a Committee for CIPM Election (the CEC).

In 2018, the CGPM elected the following seven individuals to the CEC:

  • Robert Gunn (National Physical Laboratory, UK); CEC Chairperson
  • Arne Hoell (Ministry of Economy, Germany)
  • Corinne Lagauterie (Ministry of Economy, France)
  • Yukinobu Miki (Director, NMIJ/AIST, Japan)
  • Ndwakhulu Mukhufhi (CEO, NMISA, South Africa)
  • Claire Saundry (NIST, USA)
  • Xie Jun (State Administration for Market Regulation, China)

In addition, the CIPM President and the CIPM Secretary are ex officio members.

CEC working procedure CEC members' area

Honorary members of the CIPM:

CIPM membership
W.R. Blevin, former Director of Applied Physics CSIRO (Australia)
L.M. Branscomb, former Director of the National Bureau of Standards (United States)
E.O. Göbel, former President of the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (Germany)
K. Iizuka, former President of the Agency of Industrial Science and Technology (Japan)
R. Kaarls, former Director of the NMi Van Swinden Laboratorium (Netherlands)
J. Skákala, former Deputy Director of the Slovak Technical University (Slovakia)
CIPM summary
General information
Consultative Committees
CIPM publications
Joint Working Groups
ad hoc Working Group on Governance
Strategic planning: BIPM and Consultative Committees
CIPM Sub-Committees and ad hoc Groups
CIPM election process
Members of the CIPM
CIPM Decisions and Recommendations
Photographs of the CIPM
Related articles
Former members of the CIPM
Summary of membership since 1978
Summary of membership 1875-1977
Official and explanatory texts
CIPM election process
Annual Report to Governments