– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
CCTF Working Group on Strategic Planning (CCTF-WGSP)

Terms of reference

The objectives of the CCTF-WGSP are to:

  • collect and make available information giving evidence of the importance and progress of time and frequency metrology;
  • collect information from the CCTF member laboratories on their long-term programmes of work with the aim of encouraging collaboration and cooperation, and to make this information available;
  • propose long-term plans for the future activities of the relevant Department of the BIPM over the next ten to fifteen years, and regularly review and update these plans;
  • review the activities of the relevant BIPM Department, and advise the CCTF on this by producing reports at its meetings;
  • advise on the improvement of the structure of the CCTF and its WGs;
  • monitor the evolution of new frequency standards, and of techniques for their comparison, with the aim of evaluating their impact on a possible future redefinition of the SI second;
  • assure the liaison between relevant international organizations and the CCTF;
  • establish the criteria for membership of the CCTF and its WGs.

Organization of the CCTF-WGSP

The chairperson of the CCTF-WGSP will serve during a term covering two consecutive meetings of the CCTF. Re-election for the period until a third meeting could be proposed by the President of the CCTF. To help with the organization of the WGSP, the President of the CCTF will serve as first chairman, starting from the 18th meeting of the CCTF (June 2009).

The WGSP will have at least one annual meeting, preferably to coincide with other events such as the EFTF or CCTF.

In order to facilitate the work of the WGSP, e-mail consultation between meetings is encouraged.

September 2012


  • Dr Noël Dimarcq  (UNIV-Côte d'Azur)


  • Dr Patrizia Tavella  (BIPM)


  • Dr Sébastien Bize (LNE-SYRTE)
  • Dr Davide Calonico (INRIM)
  • Dr Pascale Defraigne (ORB)
  • Dr Marina Gertsvolf (NRC)
  • Dr Yuko Hanado (NICT)
  • Mr Chris Matthee (NMISA)
  • Dr Stefan Weyers (PTB)
  • Mr Victor Zhang (NIST)
  • Experts proposed by the WGSP chairperson

  CCTF: Upcoming meetings
11–12 March 2021: Second session of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF (online)
18–19 March 2021: Second session of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF (online)
27 June to 1 July 2022: 23rd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings

CCTF summary
General information
CCTF members
Strategy documents
CCTF Working Groups
CCTF publications and bibliography
CCTF Task Groups
Photographs of the CCTF
Open documents
CCTF documents
WG-ALGO documents
WGATFT documents
WGFS documents
WGGNSS documents
WGMRA documents
WGPSFS documents
WGTAI documents
WGTWSTFT documents
BIPM Workshop on Advanced Time & Frequency Transfer Techniques 2011