– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
CCTF Working Group on Coordination of the Development of Advanced Time and Frequency Transfer Techniques (CCTF-WGATFT)

Terms of reference

  • to review the status and projected evolution of the characteristics of frequency, standards, time scales and time and frequency transfer techniques,
  • to follow and assess the evolution of microwave links in current use, based on GNSS signals and TWSTFT,
  • to follow and assess other technical possibilities, including optical fibre links, optical satellite links, and transportable optical frequency standards, which could be used for comparison of high performance frequency standards,
  • to establish the relevant connections and facilitate consultations with other relevant bodies, such as IGS, IUGG, IVS, ITU, etc.
  • together with BIPM, to foster the spread of information on technical achievements by suitable means, e.g. workshops, and
  • to propose and organize novel comparison and calibration campaigns, including multiple techniques (such as GNSS, TWSTFT, ACES microwave link, T2L2, optical fibre links).
September 2012


  • Dr Davide Calonico  (INRIM)


  • Dr Gianna Panfilo  (BIPM)


  • one representative from the CCTF-WGTAI;
  • one representative from the CCTF-WG-ALGO;
  • one representative from the CCTF-WGGNSS;
  • one representative from the CCTF-WGTWSTFT;
  • one representative from the CCTF-WGPSFS;
  • two representatives from the CCL-CCTF WGFS;
  • one representative from the BIPM, who will serve as the WGATFT Executive Secretary;
  • other experts from laboratory members of the CCTF.

Contact persons:

  • Dr Wallin Anders (MIKES)
  • Dr Albin Czubla (GUM)
  • Dr Pascale Defraigne (ORB)
  • Dr Yuri Domnin (VNIIFTRI)
  • Dr Elizabeth Donley (NIST)
  • Dr Miho Fujieda (NICT)
  • Dr Marina Gertsvolf (NRC)
  • Dr Gesine Grosche (PTB)
  • Dr James Hanssen (USNO)
  • Dr Tetsuya Ido (NICT)
  • Dr Kun Liang (NIM)
  • Dr Shinn-Yan Lin (TL)
  • Dr Helen Margolis (NPL)
  • Dr Nathan Newbury (NIST)
  • Dr Paul-Eric Pottie (LNE-SYRTE)
  • Dr Daniele Rovera (LNE-SYRTE)
  • Dr Wen-Hung Tseng (CHT)

  CCTF: Upcoming meetings
11–12 March 2021: Second session of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF (online)
18–19 March 2021: Second session of the 22nd meeting of the CCTF (online)
27 June to 1 July 2022: 23rd meeting of the CCTF and related meetings

CCTF summary
General information
CCTF members
Strategy documents
CCTF Working Groups
CCTF publications and bibliography
CCTF Task Groups
Photographs of the CCTF
Open documents
CCTF documents
WG-ALGO documents
WGATFT documents
WGFS documents
WGGNSS documents
WGMRA documents
WGPSFS documents
WGTAI documents
WGTWSTFT documents
BIPM Workshop on Advanced Time & Frequency Transfer Techniques 2011