– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
CCEM Working Group on Radiofrequency Quantities (CCEM-GT-RF)

Terms of reference of the CCEM-GT-RF:

(version 1.0, approved on 15 March 2013)

Name: Working Group on Radiofrequency Quantities (Groupe de travail pour les grandeurs radiofréquences, GT-RF)

Membership: Membership of the GT-RF is normally restricted to NMIs who are members of the CCEM and who have substantial programs and expertise in electromagnetic standards and measurements at radiofrequency and microwave frequencies. Individual scientists from member NMIs can also be considered for membership. Members are appointed by the President of the CCEM, in consultation with the GT-RF chairperson. In addition, the GT-RF chairperson may invite guests on a one-off basis from other Member States or Associates.

Chairperson: The GT-RF chairperson is appointed by the President of the CCEM, with the agreement of the CCEM.

Technical area: Electromagnetic measurements and standards at radiofrequency and microwave frequencies, defined roughly as from the MHz region up to the terahertz regime.

    to advise the CCEM and the WGRMO on matters related to its technical area;

    to identify the major future problems challenging the National Metrology Institutes in electromagnetic measurement in its technical area;

    to establish and maintain a list of key and other comparisons in its technical area, which will adequately support CMC claims by NMIs in this field of measurement in the spirit of the global MRA between NMIs;

    to coordinate and schedule key comparisons, to review progress in comparisons and to recommend to the CCEM the inclusion of the results of key comparisons in Appendix B of the MRA database;

    to provide supplementary guidelines and/or interpretations to the guidelines on conducting key comparisons included in the MRA, specifically for the field of electricity and magnetism;

    to provide advice to the WGRMO on the range of CMCs supported by particular key comparisons;

    to recommend RMO key comparisons to the CCEM for approval and to provide advice on RMO supplementary comparison activities.


  • Dr Markus Zeier  (METAS)


  • BIPM (Bureau international des poids et mesures)
  • INRIM (National Institute of Metrological Research/Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica)
  • KRISS (Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science)
  • LNE (Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais)
  • METAS (Federal Institute of Metrology METAS)
  • NIM (National Institute of Metrology)
  • NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology, United States Department of Commerce)
  • NMC, A*STAR (National Metrology Centre, Agency for Science, Technology and Research)
  • NMIA (National Measurement Institute, Australia)
  • NMIJ/AIST (National Metrology Institute of Japan, AIST)
  • NMISA (National Metrology Institute of South Africa)
  • NPL (National Physical Laboratory)
  • NRC (National Research Council of Canada)
  • PTB (Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt)
  • UME (National Metrology Institute of Turkey/TÜBITAK Ulusal Metroloji Enstitüsü)
  • URSI (International Union of Radio Science)
  • VNIIFTRI (All-Russian Scientific Research Institute of Physical Technical Measurements, Rosstandart)
  • VSL (VSL Dutch Metrology Institute)

  CCEM: Upcoming meetings
14–15 April 2021: 32nd meeting of the CCEM (online)

CCEM summary
General information
Members of the CCEM
CCEM publications and bibliography
CCEM working groups
Classification of services in electricity and magnetism
Photographs of the CCEM
Open documents
CCEM documents
CCEM-WGRMO documents
GT-RF documents
WGLF documents