– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us
CCT Working Group for Non-Contact Thermometry (CCT-WG-NCTh)

Terms of reference:

The terms of reference of WG-NCTh are to study and advise the CCT on issues related to thermal radiation and other non-contact methods for temperature measurement.


  • Reviewing and reporting on measurements of T – T90 and fixed points by primary non-contact thermometry;

  • Reviewing the research and application of non-contact primary thermometers to realise the kelvin;

  • Coordinate activities related to high-temperature fixed points;

  • Provide appropriate input into the mise en pratique for the definition of the kelvin;

  • Provide, where required, input into the guides on thermometry;

  • Provide definitive guidance, when required, on the use of secondary non-contact thermometry methods (e.g. phosphor, gold-cup thermometry);

  • Support world-wide efforts in standardization of radiation thermometer and thermal imager testing and calibrations;

  • Develop appropriate uncertainty budgets for radiation thermometry;

  • Recommend key comparisons relevant to WG-NCTh to the CCT;

  • Develop, when required, guidance for measurement best practices in novel non-contact thermometry techniques (e.g. plasma and flame thermometry).

See also:

Declaration of CCT WG-NCTh concerning the realization of thermodynamic temperature by primary radiometry


  • Prof. Graham Machin  (NPL)


  • Dr Klaus Anhalt (PTB)
  • Dr Pieter Bloembergen (NIM)
  • Dr Daniel Cárdenas-García (CENAM)
  • Dr Efrem Kebede Ejigu (NMISA)
  • Dr Ferruccio Girard (INRIM)
  • Dr Jörg Hollandt (PTB)
  • Dr Boris Khlevnoy (VNIIOFI)
  • Ing. Lenka Knazovicka (CMI)
  • Dr Xiaofeng Lu (NIM)
  • Dr Maria-José Martin (CEM)
  • Dr Mikhail Matveyev (VNIIM)
  • Dr Helen McEvoy (NPL)
  • Dr Ricardo Sohn Moretz (INMETRO)
  • Dr Humbet Nasibli (UME)
  • Dr Mohamed Sadli (LNE-LCM/Cnam)
  • Dr Naohiko Sasijima (NMIJ/AIST)
  • Dr Peter Saunders (MSL)
  • Dr Andrew D. Todd (NRC)
  • Dr Eric van der Ham (NMIA)
  • Dr Li Wang (NMC, A*STAR)
  • Dr Tiejun Wang (NIM)
  • Dr Yongshim Yoo (KRISS)
  • Dr Howard Yoon (NIST)

  CCT: Upcoming meetings
19 January 2021: 29th meeting of the CCT (online) - Session 4
9 February 2021: 29th meeting of the CCT (online) - Session 5

CCT summary
General information
CCT members
CCT publications and bibliography
CCT strategy
CCT working groups
Photographs of the CCT
Classification of services in Thermometry
Open documents
CCT documents
CCT-WG-NCTh documents