– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
The French Republic

The French Republic became a Member State in 1875.

In recognition of the role of France as the originator of the metric system and depository of the Metre Convention, the CIPM encourages the election of one French member.

Dr Noël Dimarcq, LNE-SYRTE, was elected to the CIPM by the 26th CGPM (November 2018).

Mr Luc Érard is President of the Consultative Committee for Time and Frequency (CCTF).

Representatives of the NMIs or designated institutes of the French Republic (see CIPM MRA) participate in the following Consultative Committees:

Note: This summary chart also includes personal members where applicable.

1, rue Gaston Boissier
75015 Paris
Tel.: + 33 1 40 43 37 00
Fax: + 33 1 40 43 37 37
Web: http://www.lne.fr/
Participating in the CIPM MRA since: 14 October 1999

Signed by: André KELLER (then Director, BNM*)
* now LNE
  • Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais (LNE), Paris

  • Other NMIs:
  • Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique/Laboratoire National Henri Becquerel (LNE-LNHB), Gif-sur-Yvette cedex
  • Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers/Institut National de Métrologie (LNE-INM/Cnam), La Plaine-Saint-Denis
  • For realization of the SI units in time and frequency (primary and secondary standards) and gravimetry, and for elaboration and dissemination of time scales: Observatoire de Paris/Systèmes de Référence Temps-Espace (LNE-SYRTE), Paris
    Designated institute(s):
  • Centre Technique des Industries Aérauliques et Thermiques (LNE-CETIAT), Villeurbanne Cedex
  • École Nationale Supérieure d'Arts et Métiers de Paris (LNE-ENSAM), Paris
  • Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (LNE-IRSN), Fontenay-aux-Roses Cedex
  • Laboratoire Associé de Débitmétrie Gazeuse (LNE-LADG), Poitiers Cedex
  • Société des Transports Pétroliers par Pipeline (LNE-TRAPIL), Paris Cedex 15
  • For calibration of time intervals and frequencies, and for calibration of phase noise in the RF domain: Université de Franche-Comté , Laboratoire Temps-fréquence de Besançon (LNE-LTFB), Besançon cedex

  • click to go to the KCDB

    The following institutes are authorized to use the CIPM MRA logo, for the fields of measurement supported by CMCs published in the KCDB:

    LNE from 4 October 2006
    LNE-CETIAT from 4 October 2006
    LNE-Cnam from 4 October 2006
    LNE-ENSAM from 4 October 2006
    LNE-FEMTO-ST from 4 October 2006
    LNE-IRSN from 4 October 2006
    LNE-LADG from 4 October 2006
    LNE-LNHB from 4 October 2006
    LNE-LTFB from 28 May 2009
    LNE-OB from 4 October 2006
    LNE-SYRTE from 4 October 2006
    LNE-TRAPIL from 28 May 2009

    Over the last 15 years this State has benefited from BIPM comparison and calibration services in the following fields:

    • Chemistry
    • Electricity
    • Ionizing Radiation
    • Mass
    • Time

    BIPM calibration certificates issued to the French Republic and/or its NMI(s)

    Delegates at the meeting of the CGPM in November 2018:
    • Dr Noël Dimarcq
    • Mr Luc Erard
    • Mrs Corinne Lagauterie (Head of Delegation)
    • Dr Maguelonne Chambon
    • Mr Thomas Grenon
    • Mr Rémi Stefanini
    • Mr Bernard Van Maris
    • Mr Fabrice Aidan
    • Mr Thibault Desbets
    • Mrs Marielle Fayol
    • Mr Philippe Gaucher
    • Mr Luis Mussio
    Delegates at recent meetings of NMI Directors and State Party Representatives:
    • Dr Guillaume Avrin (17-18 October 2019)
    • Dr Maguelonne Chambon (17-18 October 2019)
    • Dr Noël Dimarcq (17-18 October 2019)
    • Mr Thomas Grenon (17-18 October 2019)
    • Mrs Corinne Lagauterie (17-18 October 2019)
    • Mr Luc Erard (18-19 October 2017)
    • Mr Thomas Grenon (18-19 October 2017)
    • Mrs Corinne Lagauterie (18-19 October 2017)

    Nationals having participated in/benefited from the BIPM CBKT programme:

    Nationals having contributed to the BIPM CBKT programme:

    National institutes having sponsored a BIPM CBKT initiative (in full or in part):

    • No sponsorship yet

    Member States
    Related articles
    Notice of Contributions
    Calculating Member State contributions
    List of Member States
    Signatories of the MRA
    Participation in
    keychart and supplementary comparisonschart
    Number of CMCs published per domaintable
    NMI Directors and State Representatives