Report of the work of the Key Comparison Working Group (KCWG) of the CC AUV

31st May 2012

Dr. Thomas Bruns, PTB, Germany (chairman)

In February 2011 the establishment of the KCWG as the third working group of CCAUV was announced by e-mail to the delegates. The president of CCAUV Prof. Joaquin Valdes nominated Dr. Thomas Bruns, delegated expert for the field of vibration of PTB, as Chairman of this working group.

At the time of reporting the members of the group are (in alphabetical order)

Name	First name	Institute
Bruns	Thomas	PTB
Dobrowolska	Danuta	GUM
Harris	Peter	NPL
Medina	Nieves	CEM
Nielsen	Lars	DFM
Qiao	Sun	NIM
Ripper	Gustavo	INMETRO
Silva-Pineda	Guillermo	CENAM
Usuda	Takashi	NMIJ

Since its establishment several reports from international key, supplementary and pilot comparisons have been submitted via the executive secretary of the CCAUV, Dr. Susanne Picard, to the KCWG for review and commenting. These were in chronological order

title	time	Commenters
SIM.AUV.A-S1	April 2011	Harris, Nielsen, Bruns (Robinson)
COOMET pilot comparison under water acoustics	June 2011	Harris, Usuda, Bruns, (Koch, Robinson)
APMP.AUV.A-K3 (Linking)	July 2011	Medina, Bruns
APMP.AUV.A-S1	February 2012	Dobrowolska, Harris, Bruns
COOMET.AUV.V-K1	May 2012	Dobrowolska, Medina, Bruns
TP bilateral comparison of angular acceleration	May 2012	Nielsen

Commenters in (...) are not members of KCWG but were consulted as experts.

It should be noted that this work was done on a preliminary basis of common sense, i.e. without any defined rules of procedure or a set of approved by-laws.

Preceding the 8th meeting of the CCAUV in June 2012 the first meeting of the KCWG is scheduled. It will be the primary task of this meeting to draft the definition of the objectives, the terms of reference and rules of procedure of the KCWG for subsequent approval by the CC AUV.