– the intergovernmental organization through which Member States act together
     on matters related to measurement science and measurement standards.
Search facility:

| Site map | News | Contact us | [ FR ]
International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM)

The principal task of the CIPM is to promote world-wide uniformity in units of measurement and it does this by direct action or by submitting draft resolutions to the General Conference (CGPM).

Duties of the CIPM include the responsibility to:

    discuss the work of the BIPM under the delegated authority of the CGPM;

    issue an Annual Report on the administrative and financial position of the BIPM to the governments of the States Parties to the Metre Convention;

    discuss metrological work that Member States decide to do in common, and set up and coordinate activities between specialists in metrology;

    make appropriate Recommendations;

    commission reports in preparation for meetings of the CGPM, for example the "Blevin" and "Kaarls" reports, and others such as the SI Brochure.

The CIPM is made up of eighteen individuals, each of a different nationality. The presidents of the Consultative Committees are appointed by, and are normally members of, the CIPM.

The CIPM meets every year (since 2011 in two sessions per year) and, among other matters, discusses reports presented to it by its Consultative Committees. Reports of the meetings of the CGPM, the CIPM, and all the Consultative Committees, are published by the BIPM.

The CIPM is made up of eighteen individuals, each of a different nationality:


The following members, elected by the CGPM in November 2014, will start their term at the meeting of the CIPM to be held in March 2015:

  • Bowsher, Brian
  • United Kingdom
  • Brandi, Humberto
  • Brazil
  • Bulygin, Fedor
  • Russian Federation
  • Buzoianu, Mirella
  • Romania
  • Castelazo, Ismael
  • Mexico
  • Duan, Yuning
  • China
  • Erard, Luc
  • France
  • Inglis, Barry
  • Australia
  • Inguscio, Massimo
  • Italy
  • Kang, Dae-Im
  • Rep. of Korea
  • Liew, Thomas
  • Singapore
  • Louw, Wynand
  • South Africa
  • May, Willie
  • United States
  • McLaren, James
  • Canada
  • Richard, Philippe
  • Switzerland
  • Rietveld, Gert
  • Netherlands
  • Ullrich, Joachim
  • Germany
  • Usuda, Takashi
  • Japan

The composition of the CIPM until the March 2015 meeting is as follows:

CIPM bureau:

Date of provisional
election to the CIPM
(by the CIPM)
Most recent (re)election
by the CGPM
President Dr B. Inglis (Australia)7 Aug. 2000 2014
Secretary Dr R. Kaarls (Netherlands)14 Aug. 1994 2011
Vice-President Dr W.E. May (United States of America)9 June 2008 2014
Vice-President Dr J.W. McLaren (Canada)6 Mar. 2006 2014

Other CIPM members:

Dr B. Bowsher (United Kingdom)1 July 2012 2014
Prof. H.S. Brandi (Brazil)15 May 2013 2014
Dr K. Carneiro (Denmark)2 July 2004 2007
Dr Y. Duan (People's Republic of China)8 Mar. 2010 2014
Mr L. Érard (France)13 Sept. 2004 2014
Dr D.-I. Kang (Republic of Korea)12 Dec. 2013 2014
Prof. V.N. Krutikov (Russian Federation)1 July 2012 –  
Dr W. Louw (South Africa)15 May 2013 2014
Dr H.O. Nava-Jaimes (Mexico)9 June 2008 2011
Dr A. Sacconi (Italy)30 Aug. 2007 2011
Prof. H. Uğur (Turkey)17 Feb. 1999 2011
Prof. J. Ullrich (Germany)15 May 2013 2014
Dr T. Usuda (Japan)1 July 2012 2014
Prof. J. Valdés (Argentina)30 June 1999 2007

ex officio Dr M.J.T. Milton (United Kingdom), Director of the BIPM

Membership criteria and election process:

    At its meeting in November 2014, the CGPM approved new criteria and a new process for election of CIPM members (see Resolution 2):

    Criteria and Process for Election of CIPM Members

    The above process refers to a Committee for CIPM Election (the CEC). At its 25th meeting, the CGPM elected the following nine individuals to the CEC:

    • Edwin Brown (State Department, USA)
    • Sergei Golubev (Director of the Department of Metrology, Rosstandart, Russian Federation)
    • Robert Gunn (National Measurement Office, UK)
    • Corinne Lagauterie (Ministry of Economy, France)
    • Yukinobu Miki (Director, NMIJ/AIST, Japan)
    • Ndwakhulu Mukhufhi (CEO, NMISA, South Africa)
    • Claudia Santo (Director of the Departmentt of Metrology, LATU, Uruguay)
    • Friederike Weritz (Ministry of Economy, Germany)
    • Zhang Yiqun (Vice-Director, Metrology Department AQSIQ, China)

See also: