Search facility:  
BIPM Home | Site map | Metrologia | KCDB | JCTLM-DB | Contact us  
Criteria for membership of the CCU
CCU summary
General information
CCU strategy
CCU members
CCU working group
Criteria for membership of the CCU
CCU publications
Presentation by Prof. Mills at the 24th meeting of the CGPM
Photographs of the CCU
Open access
SI brochure (8th edn)
Draft Chapters 1, 2 and 3 of the 9th edition of the SI brochure (dated Dec. 2013)

  Working documents
CCU working documents
Direct access

The general criteria for membership of a Consultative Committee do not apply to the Consultative Committee for Units (CCU), which has a different mission from that of the other Consultative Committees.

In 2009 the CIPM approved the following criteria for membership of the CCU.

  1. The CCU seeks the active participation of:

    • International Unions1, International Commissions or Committees2, and other Intergovernmental Organizations or International Bodies3 which have a specific interest in units and which help to implement the recommendations of the CCU approved by the CIPM;

    • up to seven National Metrology Institutes or similar National Institutes4 chosen on the basis of expertise and coverage of a number of the world languages for which the CCU formal documentation is translated; and

    • personal members5, who are individuals with a long-term involvement in matters related to units, having actively contributed to publications on units, and having a global view and understanding of science as well as knowledge on the development and functioning of the International System of Units.

  2. Some experts may be invited as guests on an individual one-off basis in order to report on specific developments of technical and research work related to units under discussion.

  3. The CCU has no observers.

1. Currently IAU, IUPAC, and IUPAP.
2. Currently CIE, CODATA Task Group on Fundamental Constants, ICRU, and IFCC.
3. Currently IEC, ISO, and OIML.
4. Currently CEM, NIM, NIST, NMIJ/AIST, NPL, PTB, and Rosstandart.
5. Currently M. Himbert and T.J. Quinn.